Two Chicago Booth economists receive 2016 Sloan Research Fellowships

Award honors early-career scientists identified as rising stars in their fields

The University of Chicago Booth School of Business associate professor of economics Loukas Karabarbounis and assistant professor of economics Neale Mahoney have been awarded Sloan Research Fellowships for 2016.

The annual award from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation honors 126 early-career scientists and scholars whose achievements and potential identify them as rising stars, the next-generation of scientific leaders. Fellows receive $55,000 each to further their research.

A macroeconomist and public policy scholar, Karabarbounis studies labor markets, inequality, business cycles, and international finance. His latest research focuses on the global decline of labor’s share of income, productivity and capital flows in southern Europe, and the effects of unemployment insurance policy on aggregate outcomes.

Karabarbounis is a faculty research fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research, a senior research economist at the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis, and an associate editor at the Journal of Monetary Economics. He joined Chicago Booth in 2010 after earning a PhD in economics from Harvard University.

An applied microeconomist, Mahoney focuses on health insurance and consumer credit markets. In his research on health insurance, he has examined asymmetric information, market power, and the interaction between health insurance and personal bankruptcy. In his research on consumer credit markets, he has examined the regulation of credit card fees.

Mahoney is a faculty research fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research. Before joining Chicago Booth in 2013, Mahoney was a Robert Wood Johnson Fellow in health policy research at Harvard University. He received a PhD in economics from Stanford University.  He also worked as an economist focused on health care reform for the Obama Administration.

The Sloan Research Fellowships are awarded in close coordination with the scientific community in eight scientific and technical fields–chemistry, computer science, economics, mathematics, computational and evolutionary molecular biology, neuroscience, ocean sciences and physics. Candidates must be nominated by their fellow scientists and winning fellows are selected by an independent panel of senior scholars.